Weeks #35, #36, & #37 Weigh-in…and the post goal accomplished let down!!!

On 4/11/13, I accomplished my goal to have a BMI under 40 by my 40th birthday with 4 months to spare. Not bad that; accomplishing a 12 month goal in 8 months. The downside is that it has been difficult to refocus. As Michelle announced in her last blog, I set a new goal, still tied to my 40th, to get down to a BMI of 35. However, the rush of hitting 40 made it difficult to focus on that new goal.

Also, as you may have heard, I did pursue a new position, High School Principal in Sauk Prairie, WI. And am to some extent now splitting my, if not my time, definitely my thoughts and emotional energy between to competing tasks: getting RLHS ready for my departure and eventual replacement and getting myself ready to begin the leadership journey again in a new school and district while also trying to get us moved. None of those jobs are very easy, and that hasn’t left a ton of time for me to focus on my health. (I know, WHaaaaaa!! Right?)

However, the good news is that the 3 Days for a Cure walk in August is weighing heavily on my mind. I know that if I fail to properly prepare for it, those 3 days could be hell…and i don’t want that. So I’ve gotten most of my walks in. Especially the big walks. 11 miles yesterday has me nearly convinced that everyone who has ever claimed to do a marathon might be lying. (They likely got picked up by a bus at mile 11 as that seems to me to be the physical limit of human endurance.)

Lastly, I’m feeling some guilt about leaving Rice Lake High School. I feel our staff and students have done some really great work here in the last 5 years, and for selfish reasons, I’d really like to be here to see them through. I guess I’ll have to figure out ways to do some great work in Sauk Prairie too. (I better or it might be a shorter stay there than Michelle and I are hoping for. 🙂 )

So all that being said, I’ve still done a really good job with my weight. Some fluctuation, but considering everything I listed above, it is really quite impressive the way the new me thinks about struggle, and stress, and stress management. The old Chad would easily have gained 10-15 pounds in the last 3 weeks.

The new Chad, who weighed 306.2 in Week #34, stepped on the scale in Week #35 at 304.4 (down 1.8 pounds), in Week #36 at 307.4 (up 3 pounds), and in Week #37 at 304.6 (down 2.8 pounds). Respectively my BMI went from 39.7 to 39.5 to 39.8 to 39.5. Both of those results are satisfying, since that basically means that without much effort and not enough attention paid to my diet or exercise, I maintained my weight over a three week stretch. That bodes well for when this project is over and I am on to living my life.

Hopefully this blog is the restart of my project. Shooting for a 35 BMI by the 17th of August. Shouldn’t be all that hard. What do you think?

Be careful out there.

2 thoughts on “Weeks #35, #36, & #37 Weigh-in…and the post goal accomplished let down!!!

Leave a Reply

