Week #13 Weigh-in…and I don’t even know who I am anymore!!

So I stepped on the scale at 339.8 today.

Pretty amazing really. The last time I can say for sure that I was in the 330s was early in 2001-02 sometime. So, after a decade at over 340, most of that over 360, I am back to a weight that would likely show up on an NFL roster. (I talked about that last week; just so you are all aware, NFL rosters are like football rosters at every level…they have absolutely nothing to do with reality. When I played high school football, I was routinely listed 20 pounds heavier than I actually was. When I played college, initially I was listed at about 30 pounds more than I actually weighed. Then when I finally got to be as big as the coaches told me they wanted me, they listed me a 15 pounds less than I weighed. If anyone believes that BJ Raji actually weighs less than 340, I can happily tell you, “No F-ing way.”)

This means that I lost another 3.7 pounds this week. My BMI is 44.1. I have lost 41.2 pounds and 11% of my body weight in 13 weeks. I have reduced my BMI from 49.4 and am 56% of the way to my goal of a 40 BMI. All of that is super exciting and I am so grateful for all of the help from my beautiful wife, awesome family, and dedicated readers/commenters. I owe all of you my life…at least a portion of it.:)

However, and this is the don’t know who am I part, my dietitian and I are concerned with the increased speed of my weight loss. On a weekly basis, I have lost 3.8, 2.8, 4, 4, 4.5 and 3.7 pounds in each of the last 6 weigh-ins. Since my weight-loss goal is 2 pounds a week, I am NOT meeting my goal. Many people will be thinking, yes you are. You are exceeding the goal.

However, this isn’t like other attempts I have made. My goal isn’t just to lose weight. It is to get healthy, trim off as much excess weight as I can, and sustain the changes for the rest of my life. I am worried that I am taking off too much too fast and that I will not be able to sustain it over the long haul. So we, my dietitian and I, have made what I would previously consider to be a radical decision…that now seems completely rational to me.

We are revising my daily calorie goal UPWARDS! Because of the weight loss, my daily calorie goal had crept down to 2160. That was supposed to have me lose 2 pounds per week, just ahead of the 1.5#/week I needed to meet my “40 by 40” goal. Since I am exceeding that by quite a bit, losing 16.2 pounds in just the last 4 weeks, we have moved my goal up to 2410 calories/day. The formulas myfitnesspal.com uses suggest this should have me losing 1.5#/week. (Michelle thinks it will likely reduce my weekly loss from the 4#/week I’ve been experiencing to about 3#/week.) We’ll see what happens.

Thanks again for the follow, and it should be an interesting week. For those of you not from Wisconsin, we have deer hunting approaching this weekend. 600,000 hunters with large rifles will stalk the woods, and I will not eat well and drink too much. We’ll see if the woodsy activity will counteract the impact.

Be careful out there!!

6 thoughts on “Week #13 Weigh-in…and I don’t even know who I am anymore!!

  1. Pingback: Week #13 Weigh-in…and I don’t even know who I am anymore!! | Fish Sticks to Sushi

  2. Pingback: Weekly Weigh In - Week 7 - Sweeping Mama

  3. Congrats and good luck with the hunt! I’ve using myfitnesspal for 1 1/2 weeks it helps. As always love reading the blog. Inspirational and informative. This has really helped me on my mission to lose the baby weight before we try to have another 😉

    • Andrea, So happy you like the blog. MyFitnessPal.com is great isn’t it? (And they are not even paying me to say that…yet:) )

      Glad you find some small measure of inspiration here. Don’t hesitate to share your story with others, either here in comments or in another format somewhere else. I’m sure we would all take inspiration from your journey as well.

Leave a Reply

