And the challenge starts…(for real!!)

I’ve known since the day I started this project that the real work of it would be once school started again. Many people have no idea what a school principal does, and that is probably our fault as a profession for not making it clear to the public at large. The reality is that it is a very busy job, with almost constant demands on one’s time. For example, yesterday, I had 14 scheduled meetings. I know there are likely jobs where there are more, but to me that seems like a lot and those are just the ones that get on my calendar. With about 120 staff members in our building, I have many times that many “conversations” where a staff member is seeking me out for an answer, reassurance or problem-solving.

I don’t want to have you think I am whining about this. I love my job and the pace and variety of it are one of the things that attracted me to it in the first place. But it does present what has so far been an insurmountable challenge to my healthy lifestyle choices. I get so engrossed in my work I skip meals. I eat at odd times. I go so long between meals, that I am starving and eat the first available food, whether it is good for me or not.

Michelle packed me a lunch on Tuesday morning. It was amazing: salmon fillet, quinoa and black beans, melon balls, and 2 cups of assorted veggies. What’s the problem? I didn’t eat it until Thursday at 1:00 pm. It sat in the school refrigerator for over 2 days, because I couldn’t find the time I needed to eat it.

Whoops! There, right there, is the crux of the problem. I just typed “I couldn’t find the time.” That’s where I always fall down. I am realizing it isn’t about finding time. If I have to find the time, something will always be more important. There are too many truly needful things I have to address daily for me to be able to “find time;” I need to “make time!”

Making time? I believe that is the key. Now I just have to figure out how to do that. 🙂 Suggestions all?

2 thoughts on “And the challenge starts…(for real!!)

  1. How about setting one of your cell phone alarms to ring every day around lunch? I know you may be in meetings when it goes off, but you could choose a simple beep, and keep “snoozing” until you eat. It may also be a public service, reminding everyone else not to skip lunch either!

Leave a Reply

